One.

Hi.

Just thought you’d like to know that I am still alive and kicking.  As much as one overworked, overloaded and sleep deprived nursing student can be, I suppose.  Okay, a little exaggeration there, sorry.  It really isn’t that bad.  I will say that the first semester (AKA, the semester that almost derailed my decade long journey through college) WAS that bad.  But, I’m assuming that you’ve already guessed that I did make it out alive.

I can’t say that it’s gotten any easier, but I suppose as I cram more and more knowledge into my brain and add to that mountain of clinical hours I have to complete, it takes off a bit of the stress.  I got through my surgical rotation and am now working in labor and delivery.  But that’s just clinical.  Do you want to hear about the lecture portion of the class?  Try taking six exams in six weeks.  With each exam covering roughly ten to fifteen chapters.  Six. Weeks. Six. Exams.

Are you tired of hearing me whine yet?  I’m kinda tired of whining.  Hence, end of whining spree.

So, what else has been going on in my world, you ask?  Here’s a preview.

My dependable little Saturn finally saw its last day in December.  Courtesy of someone pulling out in front of Derek.  Everyone was okay, minus the fractured sternum Derek nursed for a few weeks after that, but the little coupe just didn’t make it.

I would show you some pictures of the house, and the little bit of progress made while I was on “blog vacation”, except I’m pretty sure the damage is quite similar to that of a tornado paying us a quick in and out visit.  Changing some of the rooms around, some new furniture, you know, just a little bit of this and that.  Those perpetual ‘this and that’s’ of our lives, what would I do without them?

We went to Florida while I was on spring break, and spend most of our two weeks hanging out with our niece and nephew, who we only get to see a few times a year.  There may have been a little jumping out of a plane at 13,000 feet in there as well.

I briefly looked at that first picture and wondered just what was going through my head at that time to give me such a look, but then I remembered what had been going through my head up until the second I jumped from that plane.  What the heck am I doing here?  Except maybe with a different word.  Or two.

And you know what?  I loved it.  L.O.V.E.D. it.  I really wish I could just hire  a full time skydiving team, because I swear it’s better than that first sip of coffee in the morning.  Those four or five minutes when there was nothing but sky around me was one of the best feelings I’ve ever felt.  And if I could, I would bottle it up and give it to everyone.  There is absolutely nothing to worry about.  Well, except maybe pulling that little cord that will hopefully bring you back to reality safely, but that’s what the other guy was for, right?

And me?  You know the little worry bug, daughter of, well, big worry bug?  I didn’t even think about that chute, or any of the things that could possibly go wrong because I was too awed.  Now that’s one way to clear your head.  Never mind all that meditation stuff, and just go skydiving.

And that’s all the time I’ve got today.  I’m beginning to feel guilty because my maternal-child book has been closed for a few hours.  It doesn’t get much rest these days, so I must go give it a little company.

Until next time! (Which I’ll try to make a little sooner than 6 months, okay?)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BFG
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 15:50:50

    Is that all ??? what else ya been up to??
    Glad to have you back- even though I see you all the time

    DAD

    Reply

  2. Emily
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 18:13:03

    I missed you!!!! I am so happy to see you post again! And I can’t believe you went skydiving!! Although it is something I would like to experience, the thought of it scares the crap out of me.

    Hopefully school gets easier and goes by quickly for you!

    Reply

  3. caprik
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 09:27:08

    Good to Read ya!!
    You are a VERY brave girl!

    Reply

  4. caprilis
    Mar 20, 2010 @ 05:17:13

    YAY!!! So happy to find a brand new post… yes, maybe you can do one once a month or so just so we know that you’re still alive.
    Ditto what Kel said, you are BRAVE!

    Reply

  5. Meg
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 09:47:58

    Steph, that is amazing! I can’t believe you went skydiving! I want to so badly and someone mentioned it yesterday and then I randomly checked your site (I do that just to see if you posted) and you did and you did this and I’m taking it as a sign. Good for you!
    Good luck with nursing school. I’ll keep my fingers crossed you survive this next semester.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

