The drunkling

So, do you want to hear about my drunk dog?  Because that’s all I’ve got right now.

07-09-09 021 copy by you.

About a month ago, Kirra ran into a little abscess on her bee-hind and I took her to the vet one evening.  Not having any openings at our normal vet’s office, they recommended one of their sister offices, so I took her there.  Turns out, the two women vets there are Simply. Awesome.  So I decided to keep going there, but that’s beside the point.  The one that took care of Kirra that night recommended a sedative before her follow up visit.  At which point I wanted to throw myself into the vet’s arms and thank her for finally suggesting something to get us through those uncontrollable visits.  So that’s what we did.

The other day I had another follow up appointment and had to give her the same thing.  Now, this is only supposed to calm a dog a bit.  Put them at ease.  However, a larger dose was recommended for her due to her high distress level.  So, from now on, before her appointments I will have a drunk dog who stumbles around the house with streams of drool coming from her mouth and bloodshot eyes.

Does it make me a bad mother that I think it’s hilarious?  The first time I honestly was worried because she was acting like she was paralyzed and crying in a way I’d never heard before.  Then I remembered that if there was one sole drama queen on this earth, it’s her.  She spent her time milking it for all it was worth, pulling whatever treats and attention she could from me before I finally realized that she was just playing it up.

So the second time around, she was a little stronger and seemed to fight the effects a bit better.  But she still chose to lay in the living room and pout the two hours between the dose and the appointment away.

07-09-09 016c by you.

Of course, that’s when she wasn’t trying to make me think she couldn’t walk and decided to scooch on her belly around the rug in order to move from one spot to another. 

07-09-09 019 copy by you.

As it happened before, the moment I grabbed my keys she bolted up, albeit a bit wobbly, and was waiting at the door.

Welcome back, Kirra.

07-09-09 014c by you.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emily
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 14:06:45

    Oh my gosh, I could not stop laughing reading this! Silly puppy.

    Reply

  2. Capri P
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 16:04:23

    That is waaaaaaaaaaaaaay toooooooooo funny!

    Reply

  3. caprilis
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 16:05:33

    That first pic is priceless! You should caption it for ihasahotdog.com

    Reply

  4. deb
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 18:26:38

    I’m cracking up! Love the scooching photo!

    Reply

  5. caprik
    Jul 09, 2009 @ 05:55:54

    No, you are not a bad mother! Sometimes life with human children is the exact same way!

    Reply

  6. Meg
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 08:54:12

    Oh she’s adorable. I like the full body scoot. It’s impressive. What a cute drama queen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

