The three that almost came to be

A fifty five pound dog slept on my stomach most of the night.  The thirty five pound one slept on my legs.  The power went out yesterday and when I reset the alarm, I set it for pm and not am.  I woke up extremely late this morning. 

At our old house, our bedroom held enough free space for both of the dogs to have a bed of their own.  This house doesn’t.  We got rid of one, and Kirra promptly began sleeping on our bed.  Usually at the bottom, across my legs.

A few weeks ago, I got rid of the other one, because we barely had room for that one.  And almighty Keiko, after refusing to sleep near anyone for his entire three years because if that someone moved an inch, his entire day would be ruined.  Literally.  He got that upset.  Anyway, he finally moved past his issues and began sleeping on the bed.  At first, he would only take my spot on the bed once I got up each morning.  Little by little, he would come up earlier and earlier, eventually turning into the entire night.

So I now spend my nights with Keiko nestled between Derek and I, the upper half of his body resting on my stomach, and and Kirra stretching out as far as her little frame will allow across my legs.  It paints quite the cozy picture, the four of us on our little queen size bed.

And when I saw this sweet little girl, as much as I wanted to make room for her in our picture, I couldn’t.

I still don’t know how I passed up that sweet puppy breath, or that soft puppy fur.  But most of all, those pink ears and pink nose were almost the deal breaker.

I even named her.  Then I came to my senses and reality came spinning back to me.  I don’t need any more creatures that shed in our house, especially not a white one.  We don’t have time for all the training they require. 

So I walked away.  Only because it was the wrong time, not because I have a problem with getting another dog, because I really don’t.  Someday.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emily
    May 28, 2009 @ 19:36:18

    That sounds so cozy and warm! And what a beautiful puppy! I can see why you had a hard time letting her go.

    Reply

  2. caprilis
    May 29, 2009 @ 04:10:50

    You are a strong, sensible woman!

    Reply

  3. caprik
    May 29, 2009 @ 05:58:12

    You probably chose wisely!
    One more in the bed would have been the deal breaker for me!

    Reply

  4. deb
    May 29, 2009 @ 06:34:09

    She is so beautiful! Good decision, for right now, though. Couldn’t you stash the beds during the day, letting them use them at night again?

    Reply

  5. Meg
    May 29, 2009 @ 09:58:37

    My sweet Lona does the same thing! She can’t fit on my bed, it’s too small, but when we’re at J’s house she likes to sleep at the foot of the bed. And at my house, she waits until one of us leaves and tehn takes their place.

    You can tell someone’s a dog person when they let their pets on the bed.

    And what a sweet puppy. I don’t know how you resisted…

    Reply

  6. Hallie
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 18:12:06

    I was wondering if you might be willing to mention my raffle/fundraiser. I would NOT ask if it wasn’t for a great cause. Plus, there are over 90 donated prizes to win totaling over $3000.00! And who doesn’t like to win??

    It’s really a win-win for everyone. People get to help me meet my fundraising goal AND potentionally win big.

    PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE clickover and enter my raffle!! You can truly win TONS OF PRIZES (totaling over $3000.00 – gift cards, Starbucks coffee maker, $600 in camping equipment, gorgeous jewelry and more).

    It’s for a great cause….

    http://www.firstgiving.com/hallietwomey

    6 years ago my Dad received a new heart.

    This is my way of giving back.
    Hallie
    http://wonderfulworldofweiners.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

