A list of sorts

Due to time constraints, I am only listing some things I’ve been wanting to talk about, but don’t have time to expand on at the moment.  Perhaps I will get around to it in, say, a decade! 

-I’ve been ignoring our impeding poison ivy issue, in hopes that if I do ignore it, maybe it will go away.  Hey, it works with some things!

-On Mother’s Day, I had a gathering at my house for my mom, grandma, and aunt.  Everyone had a wonderful time, and I actually pulled off the party with limited phone time with my mother.

-Instead of constructing an entire vegetable and herb garden this year, I planted some things in containers.  So this summer, we should have romaine lettuce, onions, green, red and yellow peppers, along with dill, chives, basil, parsley, rosemary and sage.

-School started this week, and it’s already proving to be only the beginning of my nursing school journey.  I am taking Pharmacology and Nutrition this semester, and according to my Pharm teacher, the program doesn’t start in September, it starts now.  At that moment, I wanted to curl into a ball and hide in a cave for the next two years.

-Our neighborhood seems to be quite the party place for non-rural creatures.  Aside from our deer, I’ve seen a fox hanging out in the backyard, had to pull Keiko away from his run in with a snake that was actually quite large, and seem to find either a spider or ant in the house everyday, something we learned from our neighbor is an ongoing problem, and they’ve lived there thirty years!

-As bummed as I am about all my favorite shows ending for this season, it’s nice to not have to make time to watch them.  Bones, which I’ve watched since it started a few years ago, will be missed the most. 

-Most of the gardens around my house are already complete.  I haven’t done much, other than moving some things around and planting a few new things.  They just need to be cleaned up and mulched, which my dad is picking up on his way home from up north this weekend.  Nothing beats that fresh cedar mulch scent.

-My mother and I made our annual trip to Block’s, an enormous nursery in Romulus, which is totally worth the trip, and both escaped with minimal damage to our bank accounts.  I only bought some coleus and other things for some planters.

-This Sunday, my mother and I are going to Florida to pick up my grandparents.  We should be home by Monday evening.  Talk about a quick trip!

-I finished The Kite Runner over a week ago, and let me just throw in a quick WOW!  I just haven’t had time to begin reading something new yet, that’s why it’s still up there.  Hopefully soon!

I do think I could go on and on, but I’ve got stuff to do.  Perhaps an exam covering FIVE! chapters after only one class session is enough of an excuse.  I’ll be back soon.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emily
    May 13, 2009 @ 18:15:18

    Your veggie/herb garden sounds awesome! I love red and yellow peppers. and it will be nice to have fresh spices handy. And I have to say I agree about all the shows ending. It’ll be nice to not have to make time for them. Of course, there still are a couple coming up, like So You Think You Can Dance, which I’m very excited about!

    Reply

  2. caprik
    May 14, 2009 @ 05:12:22

    You IS busy!!!!!
    Hope you can manage to fit everything you want to accomplish, in.
    I’ll bet you can!

    Reply

  3. Capri P
    May 14, 2009 @ 05:43:13

    Thanks for the party Steph….it was fun! I love your place in the city/country. I also LOVED “The Kite Runner”!
    Love you……….A.Patt

    ps I am a wee bit sad that you guys went to Block’s without me…:)

    Reply

  4. deb
    May 14, 2009 @ 15:36:27

    Thank you for the party Steph, I think that was one of the nicest Mother’s day ever!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

