You’d think I know what to look for…but I really don’t

We’ve been battling poison ivy for the past week in our household.  I knew that it was in the woods, and was very careful, just as I always am.  I’ve been very unlucky over the years when it comes to poison ivy, and have learned my lesson many times over.  My husband, however, was certain that he was immune to it.  That very well may be the case, but it seems that he came into contact with it at the same time he got a nice cut on his leg.  He is covered in it.

Anyway, being the way it happened, I ended up with a few patches of it on my legs as well.  Go figure. 

So, now the hard part comes along.  The whole issue of trying to rid our property of the pain in our you-know-what’s.  I know it won’t be easy.  I don’t expect it to be.  But the fact that I cannot for the life of me, seem to identify the plant, isn’t going to play well on that end.

This is identical to the plants I doused in poison ivy killer the other day.  Green stems, some were four or five feet tall, and they were everywhere.

05-05-09 010 by you.

Here is one of those that is already wilting from the killer.

05-05-09 012 by you.

05-05-09 013 by you.

Derek pointed out these as I was taking pictures.

05-05-09 014 by you.

That little guy in the middle threw me for a loop.

05-05-09 015 by you.

And this.  Let’s just say that the chance of this being poison ivy is unlikely.  Otherwise, we’ve got a twenty-some foot poison ivy tree in our backyard.

05-05-09 016 by you.

I am pretty sure this one isn’t.  You can’t really see, but the stems are prickly and kind of furry looking.

I’ve found plenty of pictures, and none of them seem to have helped my vision of what is should look like.  Can anyone help?!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. caprilis
    May 05, 2009 @ 14:00:37

    The picky one looks like a briar or a blackberry. None of those pics look like poison ivy to me.

    Reply

  2. Steph
    May 05, 2009 @ 16:21:18

    Great! That’s not what I wanted to hear…back to square one, I guess.

    Reply

  3. deb
    May 05, 2009 @ 18:28:14

    The one that looks most like it to me is the tree….but of course it can’t be.

    Reply

  4. emily
    May 05, 2009 @ 21:50:10

    I thought poison ivy looked more like your first picture, but I really don’t know either, so I looked it up. I found a picture, and it’s not as serrated as I would have thought. And apparantly it starts out red. Who knew? Here’s the link to the picture I found:
    http://www.poison-ivy.org/html/summer1.htm

    This also seemed like a good website:
    http://poisonivy.aesir.com/view/welcome.html

    Hope it helps!

    Reply

  5. caprilis
    May 06, 2009 @ 03:55:31

    Try looking up poison sumac and see if you might have gotten into some of that. It likes the type of conditions that are back in that area.
    But since it’s colder up there it might not have leafed out yet and be hard to identify.

    Reply

  6. caprik
    May 06, 2009 @ 05:31:24

    I have NO idea about such things.
    My advice is to turn Patt loose in your yard. She will find it in no time!!!

    Reply

  7. Steph
    May 06, 2009 @ 08:23:05

    After more research yesterday, I realized that it very well could be poison sumac. I am going to head out there later today to check it out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

