An underdog who got the gold

Who needs a two million dollar horse when one that costs less than ten thousand can get the job done?

I am not much of a sports fanatic.  In fact, I would rather do most things that plop down in front of the television to watch a game of any sort.  I’ve gone to Red Wings and Piston’s games in the past, and with Derek sitting next to me, putting everything in an understandable language, I do have fun.  But there are those days every year where I have to watch Thoroughbred’s race to the finish line.

And how could you not enjoy it.  Especially with a story like today’s underdog.  That is the type of horse I would have bet on.  If I was actually interested in betting, which I doubt I ever will be.  I can just see the look on Derek’s face when I told him I wanted to bet on the horse with the highest odds, simply because nobody cared about him, except his trainer, who trailered him all the way to Kentucky in his own truck and trailer.  I wouldn’t have cared if he won, but I sure would have been happy about it when he did.

The shock was apparent, even moreso was that the “favorite” among the crowd ended up placing 18th out of 19.  Just goes to show you that sometimes money and fame aren’t the only things that make this world go round.

Around the 1:30 mark, you can see him just fly up the rail, squeeze through to first and still finish almost seven lengths ahead.  A beautiful moment.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emily
    May 02, 2009 @ 21:52:20

    That was fun to watch, especially since I knew what to look for.

    Reply

  2. deb
    May 03, 2009 @ 19:50:36

    That was just awesome, as I blink away a tear!

    Reply

  3. Meg
    May 04, 2009 @ 09:46:31

    I saw this during one of the intermissions for the Wings game last night and teared up a little. What an amazing horse!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

