A step in the right direction

Do you ever have that feeling that something just isn’t real?

That’s how I’ve felt about going into this Nursing program up until now.

I received a thick packet of papers in the mail yesterday with requirements up the wazoo that need to be completed in the next month.  It feels like I am signing my life over to this school, and I am finally realizing that I pretty much am.

Okay, not really.  It’s a big step, and I am finally coming face to face with that fact.  Up until now, it’s just been something lingering on the outskirts of everything else that is going on.  Which, when added to THAT list, it is now the size of a small country.

I’m not complaining, I’m just a bit overwhelmed at the moment.  I will be taking classes both spring and summer, and will only get a couple of weeks off before starting up in September.

I have tests and immunizations that need to be done, orientations to attend, booklets, rules and regulations to read, CPR licensure to complete, drug testing, a criminal background check to be done, and advisors to meet with.

But, in the end, I realize that I’ve been waiting for this time to come for a long time.  It’s finally here, and it’s finally real.

I am in a bit of a rush right now, but I am going to try to come around here more often.  I do have plenty to talk about.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. caprilis
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 09:41:57

    Why in the world would you be overwhelmed??? (said with a large amount of sarcasm!)
    Sheesh, I’m overwhelmed for you!

    Somehow I just don’t see you making it down to meet Paddy someday with all of that on your plate. But I’m sure you’ll accomplish it all with ease.
    Since I know I haven’t told you lately… I’m very proud of you!

    Reply

  2. deb
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 18:02:25

    Yes, I am proud of you too! And you will do just fine….

    Reply

  3. caprik
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 05:37:59

    You have shown in the past that you can handle a HEAVY schedule. Praying youy won’t feel overwhelmed!
    You will make a fine nurse. And I know a LOT of nurses!

    Reply

  4. emily
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 10:02:09

    You’ll do great! Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

