And through this door…

You probably thought this day would never come.  I wasn’t too sure it would come either.  But here we are, seven months after moving into our new house, and I am ready to continue on with the virtual tour.

We already saw the bathroom, which was the room in the most dire need of a remodel when we moved in.  Therefore, being completed first on the list.

The other day I finally buckled down and finished off the office.  This was a difficult room for various reasons.  First, it’s extremely small.  Like a twin bed would take up half the room small.  Second, the paneling.  Oh, the paneling.  I despise it.  I anticipate the day that I no longer have to look at it. 

So, here it is before we moved in.

08-17-08 016 by you.

08-17-08 017 by you.

So, we painted the paneling an off-white, and the trim bright white.  My mother and I made a valance for the window and a curtain for the closet.  I finally got Derek to put up some shelves, and am rather pleased with how they turned out.

Derek’s beloved Fitzgerald print was the inspiration for this room, but it’s mostly an eclectic mix of things.  Some of my dad’s photography is on the shelves and the four elements fiber art next to the door is my mom’s handy work.

03-15-08 003 by you.

03-15-08 007 by you.

03-15-08 009 by you.

03-15-08 012 by you.

There you have it.  It’s an improvement at least.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 14:34:58

    DEfinately an improvement! The color really lightens up the room and I love the elements artwork your mother made. Lovely!

    Reply

  2. caprilis
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 14:58:24

    LOVE LOVE LOVE those shelves! It all looks loverly… what’s next??

    Reply

  3. emily
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 18:04:11

    I love the shelves! And I bet the lighter color on the walls really makes the room feel bigger too. Nice job!

    Reply

  4. deb
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 19:01:50

    And this room looks more loverly in person, those shelves just look great. Oh and the elements artwork was a collaboration between me and a couple of friends.

    Reply

  5. Capri P
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 19:13:36

    It looks FAB…….and where may I ask is that HUGE drafting board??

    Reply

  6. Capri P
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 19:14:19

    Oh Yeah………….and I LOVE that fish!!!

    Reply

  7. caprik
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 05:38:58

    I second Capri P, Where did the drafting table get to?
    That room looks so light and bright and all loverly!!
    VERY nice job!!! Love it!

    Reply

  8. caprik
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 11:24:24

    Since everyone is harrassing you over at Capri Lis’, I thought I would continue it over here! Join us on Way Back When-sdays!!!! Pretty please???

    Reply

  9. cancersucksbigtime
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 15:27:34

    Love it!! Looks so inviting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

