Why is it called a pet peeve anyway?

Em got tagged with this one, and although she didn’t tag me, we’re pretending she did. 

It’s a bit of an annoying day, so what better post than to list ten things that bug me.

1.  I have to agree with her last one, which was mustard.  The stuff is simply wrong.  If it were up to me, there would never be any in my fridge.  I can’t even open a bottle without cringing.

2.  When someone uses the word ‘loose’ instead of ‘lose’.  It happens way too often for me not to notice it.

3.  Sticking with that theme, when I find grammatical or punctuational errors in novels and articles.  You’d think they got edited enough times to weed that out.

4.  Commercials.  Most of the time when I watch a show as it is aired, I start half an hour or so into it, just so I can fast forward through all the commercials.  Or I pause it for a while and do something else.  Oh DVR, I do love thee.

5.  When toilet paper is put on the dispenser the wrong way.  If it isn’t coming off in the front, I itch to change it.  When we had to get a new dispenser, we got one that it open ended on one side, so all you have to do is slide the rolls on and off.  I don’t think I can ever go back to the spring loaded ones.

6.  The time of year when everything turns to mud.  I suppose it wouldn’t be so bad if I didn’t have dogs, but it gets rather annoying to have to wipe their paws off every time they come in the house.

7.  Leftover time on the microwave.  I don’t know why this bothers me so much, but every time I walk into the kitchen I glance at the microwave to make sure the time is there.  Derek knows this, and still refuses to ease my worries by simply pressing clear.

8.  Customer Service.  There is nothing I would rather do than try and try to fix something myself, all to alleviate the stress of calling a customer service representative.  Most of the time, navigating through all the recordings, staying on the phone for twenty minutes before even reaching a real person is enough for me.  Derek is usually the one to take care of these things.

9.  Flossing.  I am constantly being lectured at the dentist about this, but I really can’t stand it.

10.  When the dogs blow their coats.  Brushing them every single day and still having handfuls of hair come out when you pet them is pretty frustrating.  Not to mention the vacuuming.  I will forever bless my $80 vacuum and the fact that it has already lasted three of those seasons and is still working like a champ.  Who needs Dyson anyway?

I am just now realizing I should have talked about things that make me happy.  Note to winter:  I’ve decided that you can stay, as long as you keep the mud at bay and the hair at a minimum.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 15:13:08

    Hahahaha. I feel ya on the toilet paper. I have a passive agressive faux fight with my sister ’cause she thinks toilet paper should hang over the back and I think the front.

    Reply

  2. emily
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 16:40:40

    I am totally with you on #3 and #6. I am tempted to correct the errors in my books with a pen, but then always decide against it, thinking it would look nicer without me scribbling all over the page. And TP the wrong way drives me crazy!!! You won’t find it that way in my house.

    Reply

  3. caprilis
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 19:02:28

    t.p. should come from the back if you have little kitty toilet paper monsters in the house… you must trust me on this!

    Reply

  4. deb
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 22:55:02

    No way, winter cannot stay! Bring on the mud, lets get on with it, and get it over with. And I agree with your distaste for commercials. Wish I could remember to use that DVR.

    Reply

  5. caprik
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 06:25:31

    I can’t stand the customer service route as well. They need to have a number to push so you can talk to a REAL person. Because the options you just gave me are NOT what I need!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

