For your reading pleasure

My sister and I went to the library the other day to find a book for her to check out.

We never made it through the library doors, only to the used bookstore located just off the main lobby.  She found her book for a dollar and I found myself standing there for twenty minutes, holding a stack of books no less than two feet, wondering if I already owned any of them, and then purchasing said books.

The amount of books scattered throughout my house that have yet to be read is daunting.  Every single time I walk into the office, where books are teetering from being stacked so high, I try to think of a solution to my evolving problem.

The local library has used book sales three times a year.  I usually don’t attend these until the last day, when an entire paper bag of books is only five dollars!  I can’t remember the last time I walked out of there cradling no less than two bags, ripping at the seams.  Not to forget the aforementioned used book store, open year round.

I am positive I will catch up someday.  But my organizational soul screams out every time I see the way they aren’t in order.  Not only do I need more room to organize them, I need them organized in a way that every time I go to grab one to read, I won’t end up coming across one that I’ve already read and loved and read that one again.

I’ll admit, probably half of the collection consists of love stories, cheesy (read: not trashy) to the point of entertaining.  Maybe if Nora Roberts quit writing, I’d have a real opportunity to read some actual novels.

But, I digress.  The library is having one of their used book sales this weekend, and I plan not to attend until Sunday, the captivating “paper bag” day.  We’ll just have to see how well those plans hold. 

I’ll let you know the outcome, and in the meantime I hope to work on upgrading our office to accomodate the world of books that live there.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. caprilis
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 11:53:34

    Sounds like Derek needs to get to work on some bookshelves!

    Reply

  2. Meg
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 12:16:55

    Oh, I feel ya! Although I always manage to squeeze in some time to read. And I just adore Nora. You’re right, she needs to stop. I’ll never catch up!

    Reply

  3. caprik
    Feb 07, 2009 @ 07:12:20

    A good book is one of lifes simple pleasures!

    Reply

  4. emily
    Feb 07, 2009 @ 18:26:42

    Oh, how I wish I had a used book store nearby…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

