Honestly speaking

So, Meg gave me this loverly award.


Apparently there are rules that go along with this, so here they are, taken directly from her site.

1. Choose…blah, blah, blah…brilliant in content or design

2. Show the…blah,blah, blah…can keep the nifty icon.

3. List at least 10 honest things about yourself

 So, here I am, forced to come up with 10 more honest things about myself.  Not that every other thing I’ve shared with you hasn’t been honest.  Honestly!

1.  I’m a video game nerd.  While I may not be dropping out of school to compete in Guitar Hero tournaments , I do enjoy playing. We finally got a Wii and a Wii Fit to go along with it.  Right now, I am addicted to Shawn White Snowboarding.  And Oh!  Dr. Mario and I are best buds. Since everyone I know refuses to play that with me, I am forced to play people from all around the world.  And just for the record, the Wii Fit is pure genius…it actually got wordy with me recently for neglecting to exercise for 26 days.  And then told me I was a bodybuilder, go figure!  It’s actually fun and is a great way to exercise.  I own at least a dozen workout/yoga/pilates DVD’s and none of them have ever been able to keep me interested long enough to even finish. 

2.  Right now, I am growing my hair long so I can chop it all off and donate it to Pantene Beautiful Lengths. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long time, and am so glad I finally am.  I am hoping by this spring or summer it’ll be long enough.

3.  I recently found out that Derek had originally planned to take me scuba diving in California and propose underwater, but due to the weather it had been cancelled at the last minute.  I probably would have been in too much of a panic to even realize what he was doing anyway.

4.  I could watch The Food Network all day long.  I always see something so delicious and then promise myself that I will try it out.  I never do.

5.  Jeans and I have a love-hate relationship.  I’ve always had the darnedest time finding perfect jeans, and am still not sure they exist.  If they don’t have at least a 36 inch inseam, I can’t wear them with heels.  Then there are the almost perfect sample jeans that taunt me from the shelf, given to me by my personal fashion assistant, who happens to work in fashion marketing and is always sending me the latest and greatest samples they no longer need.  They are so blessedly long, I could cry.  They are also all size 6.  Days of single digit sizes, I really miss you…please come back to me.

6.  Come to think of it, most clothes and I have the same type of relationship.  The tops and a few of the dresses he sends my way end up working fabulously, because they are small and long, which is what I require, thanks to the small bust and long torso.  My lovely body type takes all the extra baggage and deposits it directly to my butt, hips, and thighs, so my upper body rarely changes.

7.  Moving on.  I’m a crazy nut about laundry.  While I’d love to let Derek do the laundry once and a while, I won’t let him or any other person on this planet touch it.  I take such extreme care with everything that you’d think it was solid gold.  I have specific outfits for everything I do, and I never allow myself to wear things outside the boundaries. 

8.  I don’t mind letting people borrow things, but it irks me beyond reason when people forget they’ve borrowed something and either (a) never return it,  (b) keep it longer than necessary or (c) when things are returned in worse condition than they were given out in.  If I borrow things, I always do what I was supposed to do with it and then promptly return it.  I itch to mention to people when they’ve borrowed things and had them too long, or ask them to treat them respectfully, but am too nice to ever say anything. 

9.  I almost joined the Navy at one point.  Right after high school, I had absolutely no idea what I wanted to do, and looked into joining.  It wasn’t for a few months that I finally realized I wanted to go to college, and so began my seemingly never ending journey.

10.  My most tremendous fear in life is raising a child.  For a while, I was unsure I even wanted children, constantly worrying that I would do everything wrong.  I finally just shoved the fear aside, telling myself I could do it and it’s okay to make mistakes.  I still get bouts of panic, though not as serious as they used to be.  But I know it’ll all be worth it.

Now it’s my turn to pass this along. First, Em, because she needs to get back on the wagon.  Second, my mom, well because, she’s my mom and all. And third, Kel, because she has the greatest way with words, and she’s hilarious!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Capri P
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 08:56:16

    Hi Steph…………….I am a size 6…..hint hint…………..Aunt Patt

    Reply

  2. Meg
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 14:11:08

    Oh Food Network. I LOVE THAT PLACE! I can watch it all day, it’s glorius!

    Reply

  3. Capri Kel
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 06:39:49

    We watch The Food Network all the time too! Have you seen the newer show called Secrets of s Restaurant Chef? She makes this Cookie Monster noise and says “brown food is good!”

    Thanks for the award!! I feel all special-special!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

