Really, who doesn’t need another obsession?

I often wonder what life would be like without the internet. 

I created a Facebook account some time ago, and actually forgot about it.  Recently, I got an email from an old classmate of mine through Facebook, mentioning our 10 year high school reunion next year.  (Honestly, WHERE did the time go?)

So, I started finding more and more people I knew, and have gotten reacquainted with people I thought I’d never talk to again.  It’s great.

So, I am trying not to spend copious amounts of time on the internet like I usually do when a new obsession comes along.  Blogging did it for me, Myspace did it as well (which ended almost as quickly as it began), not to mention the 600 email accounts I seem to have.  Now it’s Facebook.

Will it ever end?  I expect the initial wave to be over soon, and then it’ll become just one more place to visit every so often.

There are times I’d like to forego the internet entirely.  Some days are spent aimlessly on the computer, accomplishing nothing from the reality of my day to day life.  It’s frustrating and annoying, and most of the time, completely unnecessary.

But you know what?  It’s way too entertaining to stop.  Or perhaps I could admit to myself that maybe, just maybe, I need a life.  Does anybody want to give me one of those, I’m not sure where to find them.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. deb
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 21:06:47

    Its wonderful that you connected with old friends, that makes the time worthwhile.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

