Companions

My Aunt and my Mom tagged me with this one.  While I can’t quite beat their list of pets, I will talk about what I have had.

1. What is the first pet you remember? 

That would be Tiffany.  She was a great dog, but I don’t remember much about her.

 2. How many different kinds of pets have you owned?

Let’s see.  Dogs, cats, hamster’s, birds, fish (including octopuses and sharks), a horse, and I think that’s it. 

3. What was your strangest pet?

I’d have to say Kirra is the strangest of them all.  All her little idiosyncrasies are hilarious, and very odd.

4. What is your dream pet?

To me, there is no dream pet.  I’d be happy with any animal.

5. What is your nightmare pet? 

Not one of those either.  Every animal deserves a home and a second chance.

6. Your best/ funniest pet story…

The best I can think of right now is the nicknames we have for our dogs now.  Away from home is usually the only time I call them by their given names.  Kirra is usually Poo, or Pooh bear, or some form of that word, as well as Pook or Pookie, Munchkin or Pumpkin.  It’s weird, I know.  When she was a puppy she had an intestinal parasite that took us months to get rid of, she had constant diarrhea and eventually the name just stuck.  Keiko gets called Buddy, Bud, Mister, Little Man, Teddy Bear, or Chewy because sometimes when he whines, his voice quivers and it sounds just like Chewbacca.  Surprisingly, they respond to most of these names just as they would their normal ones.

Another funny story is when Derek first started an aquarium and lionfish were one of his favorites.  He had two of them and had had them for a few months, and they’d never given us any trouble while we were feeding them.  One day, Derek was gone and I was feeding them when the little one, the one that usually cowered in the bottom corner of the tank while a hand was in the tank, decided to dart up to the top and sting my finger.  I knew it wouldn’t do any real damage, but it stung real bad, and after a few minutes, my entire hand was swollen to the point that I couldn’t move my fingers.  The pipes had frozen, so there wasn’t any running water in the house at the time, when all I wanted to do was plunge my hand into a bowl of cold water.  I was reduced to using the toilet, and it was pretty funny.

7. Tell your worst/ saddest pet story…

There are two that come to mind.  First, when my first kitten, Samantha had to be put down when she was young after getting sick from drinking anti-freeze.  I loved that cat so much.  Second, last year when I had to get rid of my horse, Echo.  That was the toughest decision I’d made in a long time, but was necessary.

8. Did you ever have a scary animal experience?

Yes.  At our old house, I was walking the dogs one day, the same route I took them every day and passed by a house that a dog always sat in the doorway of.  This day, he somehow escaped and started running after us.  He looked harmless, so I just held my dogs tight and started to walk away.  The woman who owned the dog came running from the house, screaming at me to get my dogs away, that her dog would kill them.  At first, I didn’t believe her, but then a fight broke out and she wouldn’t even approach her dog, or yell at him.  She simply kept on screaming at me to get away from them, when I obviously couldn’t.  I just started running, yanking on my dogs until finally they were free from the other one and she was able to grab his collar.  I never walked by that house again.

9. What was your favorite pet?

I’ve loved all my pets equally, and will continue to do so.

10. What did you really want to tell us about pets that didn’t fit into the other questions?

Only that pets aren’t pets to me.  They are part of my family, they are my children.  And they truly are a man’s best friend.  It’s an everlasting companionship that never falters.  I can’t remember a day in my life when there wasn’t an animal around and I don’t see that ever changing.

I tag whoever wants to be tagged.  We’d love to hear your pet stories!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 11:13:38

    I love pet stories. That’s scary about that dog getting out. Ick.

    Reply

  2. debkolar
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 15:50:09

    You forgot one of your nicknames for Kirra: Louis! Where did that come from????

    Reply

  3. emily
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 16:37:29

    How fun to reminisce about all your great pets. I always loved Toad, and that fat cat of yours, that for the life of me, I can’t remember his name, but they are the only ones I knew very well. I didn’t know that you didn’t have your horse anymore, I’m sorry to hear that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

