Winter is in the air

Today is the strangest day.  I am sitting here, typing this and it still doesn’t seem real.  We got about 5 inches of snow overnight and it’s still snowing, with rumors that it isn’t going to stop until this afternoon.  And it isn’t even officially winter yet.  That won’t come for another two days.

When I looked outside, I had a momentary thought that I was possibly still dreaming.  The eeriest feeling washed over me as I looked around at everything blanketed in fresh snow, with no signs of life anywhere.  No fresh canine tracks in the backyard, no footprints marring the sidewalks, not even a driveway in sight had fresh tire tracks.  When I went outside, the silence  had me thinking again that I was dreaming.  Sure, there were cars driving by, but the normal sounds of traffic were muted with snow.  Most snowy mornings, you’d hear shovels scraping driveways, snow blowers whining with strain, city plows and salt trucks faithfully clearing the roads, but the atmosphere was quiet with the heavy snow beating against the hood of my coat the only sound.

I swear the dogs were smiling this morning when they first went out.  It was too early to play, but the anticipation of the day in the snow was lurking in their minds and I could see it in their faces.

Every winter I forget how a day like this feels.  Yesterday,  I was dreading today.  Today, I simply wouldn’t exchange a day like this for anything in the world.  It’s Michigan at its finest, and it’s beautiful.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. caprilis
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 16:08:23

    You just made me extra homesick 😦

    Reply

  2. debkolar
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 16:43:21

    It was magical…looking out there from the cozy house.

    Reply

  3. emily
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 16:27:26

    I love days like that, when I know I don’t have to go anywhere that is. It’s so nice to appreciate a beautiful winters snowy day from inside the warm house.

    Reply

  4. noble pig
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 22:54:37

    Where’s the picture!!!

    Reply

  5. caprik
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 08:34:03

    The sound was what was strange to me. You could HEAR the snow falling. Not the wind, the snow! Like a rainstorm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

