Did I mention that he is SO much cuter in person

I’ve been thinking about this all morning, and I simply can’t remember the last concert I went to.  That’s how often I attend concerts.  It used to be a very frequent thing, when tickets didn’t cost anywhere near $100, like some of them do these days.  I suppose I just lost interest in going, when I was paying more and more each time to sit further away from the stage, and was only able to see the artist on a screen.

Last night, however, last night was different.  My sister and I went to see Amos Lee, at The Ark in Ann Arbor. Now THAT was worth it.  It was more of a coffee house performance than anything else.  We were sitting just a few rows from the stage, directly in front of him.  It is a small place, only holding a couple of hundred people.  A place where he was able to hear anyone who spoke to him. 

 He is one of those pure artists, who could sing without anything in the background, and still put you on your knees.  The real thing was 100 times better than the recorded songs.  I’ve never been able to say that about another artist that I’ve seen live.  While I’ve always really liked his music, I’ve never liked it more than I do now, after seeing him live.  It was incredible.  He put on a great show, and made it fun for everyone.  His music is a mix of folk, jazz and soul.  A combination that he pulls off with amazing finesse.

We were able to meet him at the end, and he was so warm and friendly to everyone.  I am aware that this may very well be the last time we are able to see him in such a small crowd, as he is getting more and more popular everyday.  But, I can say that even when it becomes a full blown concert, I would still go see him and consider every penny well spent.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emily
    Nov 07, 2008 @ 19:33:32

    How fun! It has been a very long time since I’ve been to a concert too.

    Reply

  2. noble pig
    Nov 07, 2008 @ 23:14:08

    Sounds like a great time.

    Reply

  3. caprilis
    Nov 08, 2008 @ 07:30:13

    I’ve never heard of him, so I went to his site and listened to a few tracks…I like!

    Reply

  4. Meg
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 13:46:33

    I love Amos Lee. I saw him at the Royal Oak Music Theatre this summer. Same thing, small theatre and great crowd. Him and his band all wore three piece suits, with the vests and everything. Did he sing Sweet Pea? That’s the my song for my boyfriend.

    Glad you enjoyed the show! I hear it’s a great venue.

    And he is even cuter in person.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

