I’m just glad it wasn’t pink and black

Here I am, staying true to my word.  The first room I am going to show you is the bathroom.  Our itty bitty bathroom.  While I would have loved to do a complete makeover, we didn’t.  Someday we plan to put an addition on this house, and I don’t know just how the layout is going to be yet.  So, we’ve decided not to change some things that may just be totally changed five or ten years from now.  I mean, if this isn’t going to be a bathroom at that time, why would we waste money on something like tile, that will just have to be thrown out when the major remodel comes. Right?  Anyway, here is the bathroom.  It’s not anything fancy, but it’s cute now.

Before:

I didn’t like anything about the bathroom.  It was so dark in there.  The red walls, the glare from the glass shower door, and the dark wood.  I couldn’t stand it.  Neither of us could stand comfortably under the existing showerhead, so it had to go.

After:

We painted the walls an off-white, replaced all those dark fixtures with new white ones, took out the glass door, and it made a world of difference.  We also switched out the showerhead and tub faucet, you just can’t see them in the pictures.  It turned out better than I expected it to.  I am still not a huge fan of the tile, but it works in there. 

None of the other rooms are picture worthy yet, but I will share them as soon as they are.  Hopefully that doesn’t take me all winter….

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emily
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 10:20:11

    It’s amazing what a few changes can do to a room, it looks great! I can’t wait to see what you’ve done to the rest of the house.

    Reply

  2. noble pig
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 15:55:28

    Wow, that made a huge difference! Looks great.

    Reply

  3. caprilis
    Sep 30, 2008 @ 04:56:46

    Great job!

    Reply

  4. caprik
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 04:32:05

    Very nice! I guess you won’t ever be late for work with that clock in there!

    Unfortunately, I had the pink and black tile bathroom when I lived in Windsor 23 years ago. Yeah, not much you can do with THAT!

    Reply

  5. Meg
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 09:41:42

    What an improvement! And I love the palm tree shower curtain!

    Reply

  6. Nicole
    Oct 02, 2008 @ 10:26:50

    It looks much better! You have a good eye for decorating! Can’t wait to see the rest of the house!

    Reply

  7. jenny
    Oct 02, 2008 @ 13:35:54

    wow! that is such an amazing little makeover! makes it look COMPLETELY different. nice job! can’t wait to see more of the house!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

