I’ve never read any Harry Potter books either

I must be missing out on something here. Everywhere I turn people are talking about The Twilight Series, and I have yet to read it.

My friend Emily told me about it months ago, and I assumed I wouldn’t have any trouble finding the books. I assumed wrong. A couple of the bookstores I checked were currently sold out, and the library already had a waiting list the length of the Nile. There wasn’t a chance of finding them at a book sale. I eventually found some at Barnes & Noble, but I have this funny thing about paying full price for a hardcover book. Not that I don’t think it would be worth it, it’s just…this thing I have. If it had been one book, I would probaby have bought it, but there were three already out, and the fourth was coming out soon (at that time). I couldn’t bring myself to purchase them.

I could have just bought the first one, but we all know what would have happened then.  I would have finished it in a few days, and then would have had to go out and purchase the next one, finish that one in a matter of days, and so forth.  The fourth book came out not to long ago, and I simply can’t ignore it any longer.

So, I think I just may have to give in and read this saga.  I just need to get my hands on them first.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 14:52:24

    I’m going to let you in on a little secret…I wasn’t THAT impressed. I enjoyed the books, but it wasn’t enough for me. Now Harry Potter on the otherhand.
    I gotta tell you, I got my boyfriend reading them and he just finished the last one and LOVED THEM! A grown man loved them. Trust me on the Harry Potter. Please. I was a non-believer, I refused to read them until I HAD to for a children’s lit class.
    DO IT! JUST DO IT!
    And you can find them at used books store CHEAP!

    Reply

  2. noble pig
    Aug 13, 2008 @ 15:52:54

    That’s funny, this series is circling around the blogosphere like a tornado! Amazing isn’t it? I might have to give in…but I have read all of Harry Potter.

    Reply

  3. Emily
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 21:59:58

    It’s about time! They are the best books ever, and I’m going to pretend I didn’t just read what Meg wrote… 🙂 But I think Amazon sells them cheaper than most other places. And chances are you know someone who already owns the books and will let you borrow them. Let me know when you start!

    Reply

  4. Lo (Burp!)
    Sep 01, 2008 @ 21:18:11

    This series is really catching on like wildfire.
    I’ve not picked them up yet, but I am growing curious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

