Yes, I really do eat the giblets

I enjoy cooking.  I’ve never been the best at it, but done well enough.  The first couple years I was married, we ate spaghetti and chicken enchiladas quite a bit.  Those were the only two foolproof meals I could conjure up.  Other than that, Derek would grill steak, chicken, and pork chops most of the time.  I’ve tried out quite a few recipes over the years, most of which didn’t turn out great.

In the last year, I’ve been trying a lot more things, and have expanded my list of meals I can actually cook.  It wouldn’t be a problem if my husband was the type of eater I am.  I am not one bit picky.  I will basically eat anything, and love eating the weirdest types of food.  I am one of those people that will eat the giblets after they are used to flavor the gravy.  Derek, on the other hand, is The Worlds Pickiest Eater.  Nothing can ever be prepared to his liking, and he isn’t afraid to let me know.  He might just look at a dish, and decide right then that he will not be trying it.  He isn’t anything like most men, where they will tolerate whatever is put in front of them.  He should’ve been a food critic.  He has specific parameters that must be met.  But, if I don’t cook something, he is content eating a bowl of cereal for each and every meal!  He also doesn’t like seafood, and I am a seafood freak!  In a way, I am glad he is like this (to a certain extent), because it has really helped me hone my cooking skills. 

Recipes are my downfall.  I never know which ones to pick out, and have trouble gauging whether or not they will taste good.  When I do finally choose one, I have a hard time picturing it in my head, so it never seems to come out right.

So, when I stumbled upon this site last year, it was a match made in heaven.  When I first started trying some of her recipes, I would just setup the laptop in the kitchen and follow along.  It was so easy, and they all turned out just how they should.  I praise everyone that has a food blog and takes the time to snap a shot of each step, it makes things so much easier for a beginner cook like myself. 

I haven’t been cooking a whole lot lately.  Hello, grilling season!  But, I seem to have a sudden obsession with food blogs.  So, I’ve been wanting to cook a million different things.  Some of the food blogs I love include; Noble Pig, Burp! Where food happens, and Smitten Kitchen. Not to leave out The PW.

Another reason I couldn’t do a whole lot of cooking the first few years was that there was only two of us.  Added to the Worlds Pickiest Eater, is the fact that he doesn’t like leftovers.  I got sick of eating the same thing for dinner every single day, while he got to go out and get whatever he wanted.  Oh yeah, I also forgot to mention that he doesn’t like things that have been frozen.  As you can see, I was in quite a predicament.

I am going somewhere with all this, really!  See, I am moving back to my hometown, just a few minutes from my family and friends.  In the past years, I was living a little too far for comfort, and nobody ever wanted to come visit me, even to come over for dinner.  So,  I didn’t get many opportunities to try out recipes and feed anyone besides myself.  I always hated to waste food, so I just wouldn’t make things that would go to waste.

But now, I can try things and actually feed it to people that will appreciate me trying, and there will be just enough leftovers so Derek can try it, and there won’t be any wasted if he doesn’t like it!  See, I’ve got it all figured out.  I’m smart like that.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lo (Burp!)
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 13:44:47

    Hey, that’s fantastic news!
    So, where is “home”?

    Reply

  2. noble pig
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 16:57:09

    Oh that’s so great! Thank you and I can’t wait to see what you cook up…make sure you take a picture.

    Reply

  3. Emily
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 23:33:19

    Thanks for sharing that site, I love how she takes pictures of every step! That’s great! And good luck cooking for your picky eater, you must have lots of patience with him!

    Reply

  4. Meg
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 16:04:34

    That’s great you can make meals to share! I just moved in with my sister and after living alone for over a year and eating cans of soup, I’m excited to be able to cook a meal with someone. YAY!

    Reply

  5. Ok, Where Was I?
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 13:20:29

    I think I could eat just about anything that I didn’t have to make myself. I’m not picky either–so if you ever wanted to have me over for dinner, I’d eat seconds.

    I always feel like I make the same things b/c it takes too much time to find another recipe and give it a whirl. I did make PW’s bread pudding though and thought it was the best recipe ever. So did everyone who ate it. Oh, and that asian salad, which I also loved. So maybe I need to get back over there and try something else.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

