Atleast she knows I won’t rip out the gardens

We had a home inspection done yesterday on the new house.  Everything turned out alright, just a few minor issues that need to be addressed.  That’s what husband’s are for, right?

It got a very good report, and I still like this house more and more each time I see it.  The fact that the previous owners live two doors down is a little odd, though.  That’s right, last night a woman came over while the inspection was going on.  Her and her husband had lived there for 22 years, and this past February, lost the house.  Her parents live two doors down, which is where they are currently living.  While I feel for them, and I am sorry for their luck, it was a bit on the strange side.  Especially when you could tell she really missed the house.  She was very willing to share any information about what they had done over the years, and even gave me some old photos from the kitchen remodel. 

After I had shared some changes that we wanted to make to the house, I kept my mouth shut.  She was very against the fact that we wanted to put up a fence, and suggested that we use an invisible fence.  I will not let anything hold me back, but I do completely understand why she is feeling this way.  First, she grew up two houses down, and her best girlfriend lived in the house we are buying.  The house between those two, and the one on the other side of our house are still owned by the same people that owned them 30 years ago.  So, her and her husband bought this house, and made it theirs for 22 years.  So, hello, there are some changes going on around here for the first time in a long time, and I can see where that would make it hard.

The way she talked about the house and all the things they changed over the years really proved that there is still some feeling there.  Hey, if I were in her position, I would probably be the same way.  Which is why I probably wouldn’t have ever gone over there in the first place.  I am glad she did, we found out many things we wouldn’t have otherwise.  But, if it was that difficult, she really shouldn’t have.  Obviously, she wasn’t rude or spiteful to me in any way.  She was wonderful about the whole thing, which made me feel even worse.  It also made me wonder.  She didn’t seem like the type of person to bother us or look over our shoulders at everything we do, but will she?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 15:41:13

    Wow, that’s a tough situation to be in. I feel for you, as I have a tendency to let my empathy spill over. Hopefully it won’t be a problem. Good luck and keep us posted!

    And YAY for the new house! Just keep thinking about that.

    Reply

  2. noble pig
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 18:11:19

    Hmmmm, I hate to say it but keep your distance….it will be too hard when she comes over and tells you to put your couch a certain way.

    I would be waving friends only.

    Reply

  3. Emily
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 20:42:50

    I agree with Noble Pig. It sounds like she is going to want to be a part of the decisions you make, which is not okay and will just make her get on your nerves. She’ll need to move on.
    But that’s exciting that things are moving along on the house! I’m so excited for you!

    Reply

  4. Leann
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 20:41:49

    I think it’s good she came over, I imaging eventually she will move away, and meanwhile having her there is a great asset. I doubt she’ll be a problem, I’m sure it’s hard watching the house change, she’ll have to get used to that. I think you’re right not to share all your thoughts on what you’d like to change, that can feel like you’re criticizing her taste. But having someone who may be able to tell you what is going on behind a wall can be very helpful. Congratulations on the house!

    Reply

  5. MeMeadow
    Jul 10, 2008 @ 01:17:26

    Hello – been lurking on your blog for a little while, and have read from start to present. You are so funny! I really enjoy your this n that. Just introducing myself, and you are welcome to come visit mine over at AOL journals. Have a great day! MeMeadow

    Reply

  6. Ok, Where Was I?
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 15:04:09

    I’m with noble pig. Waving friends. But then I’m not terribly sociable with any of my neighbors, so that should be no surprise. That kind of stinks a bit, but at least you have a nice house to move in to. and they probably can’t stay with the parents forever, right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

