So, my huskies decided to be huskies yesterday.  Who would’ve thought THAT could ever happen.  Derek was taking the trash out and he left the front gate open for a minute.  They were gone.  Not just a little stroll outside the gate, they took off at a full run.

Let me backtrack a little and say that we have never had a problem with them running off.  Yeah, they’ve gotten out before, but they never go far.  There were times they had been out for half an hour before we even noticed, and they were only a couple of houses away.  Whenever we are working in the front yard or are at my parents house (which is not fenced), they always stay right with us.  We leave the gate open all the time when we are coming in and out, and they never do anything.

When he first called, I thought he was just joking around.  But then I heard the alarm in his voice and realized it really happened.  They didn’t even have their collars on.  So, for 45 minutes, they ran, nonstop, all over our neighborhood.  They ran the two and a half blocks to the main road near us.  I was just arriving home when Derek called and said he had found Kirra about 5 blocks away.  Someone said they saw Keiko take off toward the main road again.  He found him a few minutes later.  They were both fine, just out of breath.  They were panting for a good hour and a half after that.

So, everything turned out okay, but I nearly had a heart attack.  I called animal control on my way home, and I know a couple of people that saw them had already called the police.  I still can’t figure out why they did it though.  It was so out of the ordinary.  Kirra always has a scheme for something it seems, so maybe she just wanted a good run.  Whatever the case, we are definitely going to be more careful in the future.  I am hoping the move to a yard 8 times the size of our yard now will cure any desire they have to do this again.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Capri P
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 18:10:01

    Advice from your Aunt Patt………don’t EVEREVEREVER take their collars/tags off. I learned my lesson about that from HobieCat who had not gone outside for YEARS until the one day that he did and I never saw him again!

    Reply

  2. Michael Mohammadi
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 22:57:25

    I just found your blog through Cathy at the Noble Pig and enjoyed this post. I have two huskies (brother/sister- 2 years old) as well: http://foodandwineblog.com/images/feb08/huskiesyard.jpg

    Anyways, they are great dogs and can be mischievous…but that’s why we love them, right? 🙂 Another random fact: I’m from Michigan but living in Baltimore!

    I’m enjoying your blog though, nice work here.

    Best,
    Mike

    Reply

  3. Meg
    Jul 02, 2008 @ 09:53:20

    My heart dropped for you! Thank goodness they’re alright. That’s my biggest fear.

    Reply

  4. emily
    Jul 02, 2008 @ 11:05:09

    Thank goodness they’re okay. It’s especially scary since you live near a main road. And they will just love their new yard.

    Reply

  5. noble pig
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 09:29:35

    I always wonder why dogs take off like this…where do they think they are going? Glad it turned out well.

    Reply

  6. aprillins
    Jul 04, 2008 @ 19:35:14

    why huskies are expensive in asia?
    – aprillins

    Reply

  7. Rhea
    Jul 07, 2008 @ 21:53:09

    Whew, that’s scary! We have a wonderful, sweet lab named Annie, and she’s never run away, but I would have heart failure if she did. Although, she is microchipped, which helps some, if she didn’t have her collar on.

    I’m glad everything turned out ok.

    I found you through your comments on Pioneer Woman’s site. Love her blog!

    Reply

  8. Starwoodgal
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 10:21:28

    Well – I have a big ol’ Alaskan Malamute and it is their artic nature to wander and roam at will, if allowed. I never let him off leash near an open gate where he can bolt, because he will, because he can and he has the speed and strength to do whatever he wants.

    I’m glad your babies are okay.

    Reply

  9. Rhea
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 03:40:02

    If you have kids and/or dogs, fences are really a must for the yard. I am so happy to finally have a fenced backyard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

