There will be some partying to do

 Well, we got it!  A verbal acceptance, that is.  We haven’t signed anything yet.  So, unless something happens, and it falls through the cracks, here is our new house!

This is a picture I just borrowed from the listing.  As we are working on it, I am sure you will see plenty more.  And trust me, there is PLENTY of work to be done.  We walked into SO many houses thinking, “what were these people thinking?!”.  One house we went in had some sort of mushroom growing out of the floor.  I’m not sure about you, but I find that real desirable.  There was another with wallpaper that had to be from the 1940’s, covering everything.  I mean, do closet doors really need wallpaper.  For the most part, this house is pretty simple.  With only two three four major screw up’s according to my standards.  First, rose printed carpet in the master bedroom.  Seriously, who in their right mind picks out carpet like that?  No pictures to document that one yet, but I will as soon as I can.  We plan to rip out all the carpet before we even move in, so that’s not a problem.  Second,  white knotty pine cabinetry paired with a dark green counter top and back splash.

16382 FARMINGTON

Last time we were there, my sister pointed something out that I thought was hilarious!  The back splash looks like an aerial image you would see on a map. I think she may be on to something here.  I am thinking some paint on the cabinets until Derek is able to build some custom ones, and as soon as we can, new counter tops and back splash.  Did I mention that light fixture?  Third, popcorn ceilings.  Need I say more?  Fourth, knotty pine paneling in one of the bedrooms.  Not much I can say about that except, WHY?

I really am not complaining.  I am excited to fix up this house, and make it our own.  We will be happy here for a very long time.  Here’s what did us in.

16382 FARMINGTON

 This picture doesn’t even do the yard any justice.  For being in the city, it’s HUGE! If that house with the fungus had been on this lot, I would have bought it.  Ok, maybe not.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ok, Where Was I?
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 13:35:55

    Cute house! That looks like a nice, big kitchen. And yes, a fabulous yard. You can’t pass that up, even if there were an indoor mushroom.

    Reply

  2. Meg
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 14:02:29

    AH! Good luck. It’s a cute house. And having a dog, I’m with you on the gigantic yard.

    Reply

  3. noble pig
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 19:53:51

    Congratulations, it will be wonderful!

    Reply

  4. emily
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 20:50:08

    Hooray! Congrats! What a great looking house, and sounds like there’s tons of potential.

    Reply

  5. Michael Mohammadi
    Jul 02, 2008 @ 09:07:16

    That is a nice house with, importantly, a good sized kitchen. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you (and the dogs)! The huskies are going to LOVE that yard!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

