Where it started

I had this whole plan to take a bunch of pictures this weekend of the house and garden.  That didn’t happen.  Instead, I spent all Saturday morning cleaning and then went out to the farm for the rest of the day.  The vet came out to give all of the horses their spring shots, and we did a little riding.  I was pretty beat and didn’t get home until late, so spent the rest of the evening lounging on the couch with Derek.  Today was spent out at my aunt’s house for a Mother’s Day celebration.  While I still may have time right now, it’s been raining nonstop all day long and I don’t think it plans on stopping anytime soon.

Aside from all my excuses, I will begin with some pictures that were snapped by my mother last weekend.  This little garden was my very first one.  Being the daughter of a gardener extraordinaire, it was only a matter of time before I decided to try it out.  I too, am addicted!  So, this little garden started with a sprig of creeping jenny and a small bleeding heart that my aunt had given me for my wedding shower.  I should probably mention that this garden addiction tends to run in the family.

The bleeding heart loves that corner there, the stella d’oro daylillies came from another aunt, the iris in the back and the violets came from yet another aunt. 

Here is a closeup of the violets looking out toward the road.  Those violets are so frustrating, because I always have to pull them out to keep them under control.  But, I just love how they look against the rocks.  That massive structure in the background is my cherished viburnum, which I will take pictures of as soon as it stops raining.  It’s blooming right now, and it’s simply gorgeous.

After I had planted this garden and tended to it for a few months, I realized how much I enjoyed gardening, and have been doing it more and more each year since then.  So, there you have it.  My first real garden, and it’s still my favorite.  The rest will follow soon.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emily
    May 12, 2008 @ 08:50:49

    I love your garden! It looks like you’ve done a great job with it. I can’t wait to see more pictures. My garden is one of my favorite things about Spring, after Winter I am so ready for flowers!

    Reply

  2. jenny
    May 12, 2008 @ 09:07:36

    awesome garden! i love it. gardening runs in my family as well. i used to hate pulling weeds as a chore – now i have wonderful gardens of my own! thanks for sharing pictures. i will have to do the same on my blog soon!

    Reply

  3. Meg
    May 12, 2008 @ 12:55:20

    What a beautiful garden! I’ve always been the kinda lady that kills plants, but lately I’ve managed to keep quite a few indoor plants going. Maybe I’ll have to start gardening. If so, I might be hitting you up for tips! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

