Sitting still for 5 hours isn’t something I enjoy doing

Downtown Detroit, April 14, 2008

191 prospective jurors sit in the assembly area.

For three hours.

25 get called into a court room (which doesn’t include myself).

166 prospective jurors sit in the assembly area.

For two more hours.

11 prospective jurors return to assembly area.

177 prospective jurors get sent home.

***

That was my day yesterday.  I am so thankful I am able to read a book when there is background noise, because otherwise I probably would have started to pull out my hair. 

It was probably atleast 80 degrees in that room, everyone was crabby, restless, and annoyed.

I would have been happier if I had been picked to serve on a jury.

Oh, how I love jury duty!

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 14:31:55

    I’ve always wanted to be picked for jury duty but after hearing that explanation of the day… maybe not.

    Enjoy your semester off! Good luck catching up with your list!

    Reply

  2. Ok, Where Was I?
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 14:48:37

    Ugh, I’ve never wanted to be called for it. I know I’m jinxing myself too by saying that “out loud” here. Can you bring your kids? B/c that would be extra fun for 5 hours.

    Reply

  3. emily
    Apr 16, 2008 @ 09:18:15

    Ahh yes, I have been in that very same room before and your description of it brings back memories. Of course I was picked to be a juror and had to go back every day for a week. I think it’s safe to say I would have preferred staying in that big room for 5 hours and not getting picked. I’m glad you had a book with you!

    Reply

  4. Holly
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 13:41:06

    I have actually always wanted to do jury duty, but with my luck it would most likely turn out how your day did which definitely didn’t sound like a good time. You are definitely lucky that you can read with background noise, I would have been flipping out and getting all claustrophobic.

    Reply

  5. noble pig
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 22:03:15

    Oh no, jury duty, the worst!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

