Maybe they’ll disappear into a pothole

Dear the lovely drivers that I share the road with on a daily basis,

1.  It’s called the fast lane for a reason.  If you feel obligated to merge into this lane to pass someone that is going two miles an hour under the speed limit, atleast go faster than the speed limit. 

2.  You live in Michigan, and guess what?  IT SNOWS HERE!!  Get used to driving in these conditions, or move somewhere else.  A little snow does not give you the right to drive 35 mph in the fast lane, just because it is the lane with the least amount of snow. 

3.  Accidents happen, and people get ticketed every single day.  This is not reason to slow down to 30 mph, causing traffic to back up three miles.  And something else you may not have figured out yet either, when your eyes aren’t on the road, that usually leads to an accident.  So, save yourself and just ignore the tow truck on the side of the road, just keep on driving.

4.  If you still live here and haven’t figured this one out yet, please move away!  Slamming on your brakes does absolutely nothing when you see brake lights one mile ahead of you.  ESPECIALLY when the weather is bad.  I remember being taught specifically not to slam on the brakes when the roads are wet or icy.  It doesn’t end well.

5.  If there is a policeman in the vicinity of you, whether it be driving down the road or stopped and parked, IT’S OKAY to go the speed limit.  Even a few mph above, and nothing will happen to you.  I promise!!  I do believe cops drive slower than they should just to annoy people, and scare them out of driving like a normal person.  As long as you aren’t doing anything wrong, there is no need to freak out!

These are the things you will most likely find me yelling about in my car.  Never to anyone else, just screaming at them through my tightly closed windows.  I have a tendency to be a little impatient when it comes to driving.  I do follow all the rules, and usually just drive 5 mph over the speed limit.  It’s ironic that I love to drive, and at the same time hate traffic.  It’s a balancing act really, the horrible drives in the winter are shown up by the beautiful drives during the warm months.  The rush hour traffic is unavoidable, but after taking the same route for so long, you figure out the quickest way. 

Being on time is a major issue with me.  I start to panic if I am going to be late somewhere.  I am the type to call someone if I am going to be 5 minutes late. This is something that will probably always be with me, something I just can’t avoid.  The impatient gene I obtained happens to be from my father, but the control issues are something I created all by myself!  I suppose I could have it worse and live in LA, Chicago or New York.  Just another reason for me to move out to the country.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rosie
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 09:46:28

    You have just reminded me why I don’t drive!! Great post.

    Reply

  2. jenny
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 11:26:44

    i just found your blog through the pioneer woman. i’m from minnesota so i can TOTALLY relate to this post! i hate stupid freakin’ drivers! i am always screaming at them from inside my car. 🙂 look forward to keeping up with your blog!

    Reply

  3. Sarah is Ok
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 18:31:16

    Some of my worst drives ever were the ones from my parents house through chicago, around the lake, up to MSU. Talk about road rage.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

