A musical dissection

I’ve been thinking about this for a few days now, and if I continue to think about it any longer, I will most likely have an enormous anxiety attack, and need to admit myself, because this is just somthing I cannot figure out.   That’s what I do when I can’t figure something out, I pretty much freak out until I do figure it out.  And it’s not saying much about me when it involves such a small task as this one. 

Meg has tagged me.  I am supposed to list my five favorite songs. Which is something I just can’t do.  Music is like therapy for me, and there are SO many favorites that I simply can’t pick.  So, after trying to do this, pulling some hair out, and trying to do this some more, I’ve decided to put a little spin on it and list five of my favorite artists or bands.  This makes it a little easier.

I mainly listen to country music, but like all types of music.  Except rap.  I can’t listen to it.  Music is a constant variable in my life and always will be.  Certain songs and artists have helped me through some hard times in my life, and I will always remember them, but probably won’t ever listen to them again.  So, here are five of my favorite artists/bands and why I enjoy listening to them.

Garth Brooks
His music is just embedded in me because growing up, having a dad that was, and still is a huge Garth fan, that’s mainly what we listened to.  Whenever we took trips, it was always Garth or Bob Seger, and going fishing on the weekends, we’d always have Garth blasting from the speakers.  So, he will always remain one of my all time favorites. 

Martina McBride
She has an amazing voice.  I like her music because she sings about real life things, problems in this world, and she has gotten so many points across about things in this world through music.  I do believe music is a great way to spread the word about something important. 

Ray LaMontagne
I just recently started listening to his music, they played a couple of his songs on Grey’s Anatomy, and I was hooked.  He does a few love songs, and I am a sucker for cheesy love songs.  I was actually first attracted to the tune of his music.  I had a hard time trying to decide to put him or Amos Lee, because I like them equally.  If you like Ray’s music, you’d most likely enjoy Amos as well.

Metallica
This stems from my younger years, but I still enjoy listening to them.  But the main reason is the guitar.  Particularly the guitar solos in so many Metallica songs.  I love the sound and vibe they give off.  It seems to just reel me in and I tend to zone out of everything that is going on.  Sometimes there is nothing better than getting lost in a song.

Brad Paisley
His music just cracks me up.  It’s always so upbeat and funny.  He’s written so many clever songs, and he is an awesome guitar player.  There are a few romantic songs scattered in there, so with him, you are getting a little bit of everything.

So, there you have it.  As you can see, I am pretty versatile when it comes to music, and this isn’t even the beginning of it.  I am not going to tag anyone, but if you read this and are interested in doing it, consider yourself tagged. 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debkolar
    Feb 16, 2008 @ 11:10:43

    Dad says to remind you about the hours and hours you listened to Phantom of the Opera, and what about those 50’s and 60’s oldies.

    Reply

  2. Meg
    Feb 18, 2008 @ 13:45:23

    Steph, I started listening to Ray LaMontagne for the same reason! I actually saw him in concert, he opened for Guster, not that long ago. Brilliant! This tag was hard and even now I look at that post and say, “Wait, I should’ve gone with THAT song instead.” Oh well.

    Reply

  3. Sarah is Ok
    Feb 20, 2008 @ 11:47:16

    OMG, Phantom of the Opera. I was right there. Did I really just openly admit that? I was not expecting the Metallica after the first three.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

