No mushy love notes for me

It’s Valentines Day.  I know I won’t get a card, I won’t get any flowers, I won’t get a nice dinner, I probably won’t even get a “Happy Valentines Day” from my husband. 

I don’t mind one bit. 

This is just who he is, and one of the reasons I love him so much.  He is stubborn, opinionated, and when he doesn’t agree with something, there is no changing his mind.

I know if I asked him to acknowledge this day, and get me something, he would.  And just knowing that makes me realize that I don’t need to make a big deal out of this day.  While I love romance,  I don’t need any of it from him.  I would be much happier getting a new lens for my camera, or a new vacuum than a huge arrangement of flowers.  I am pretty simple.

He truly is a wonderful husband, and he does amazing things for me all the time.  Having a husband that is as passionate about living in a clean, neat house as I am is romantic enough for my taste.  He is very practical, which is a quality I adore.  So, buying flowers on Valentines day is just not practical, considering the huge increase in prices during that time.  We both agree on that. 

With all my anal retentiveness, and uptight tendencies, he really balances me out.  And once and a great while, he will get me a romantic gift or bring home flowers.  For everyone else out there that are Valentines day suckers, I am sorry to rain on your parade, and I am not putting the holiday down.  My husband just doesn’t believe in it, and over the years, that tends to rub off on me as well. 

A while ago, I got tagged to list five of my favorite songs. I am still working on it, and promise to post it sometime soon.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 15:33:16

    You know, my sister feels the same way. I think I don’t mostly because I’m not in a committed relationship. So, I daydream of the perfect man sweeping me off my feet and delivering me flowers for every major Hallmark Holiday.
    Is that too much to ask?

    Reply

  2. desperatehorsewife
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 16:42:29

    The only reason I got a box of chocolates this year is because I was the ONLY one last year in blogland who’s husband didn’t buy me flowers, candy, a card…or take me out to dinner. And I let the world know about it through a lovely little post about owl poo…er, vomit. 😀

    Reply

  3. caprilis
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 17:08:13

    Ok… so it’s starting to scare me about how much we think alike.
    Sometimes I think this ‘practicality gene’ is a curse, but most of the time I think it’s pretty darned cool… it just shows that we really understand what the truly important stuff is.
    Happy Valentines Day!!! Love you!

    Reply

  4. The Facebook
    Feb 15, 2008 @ 02:20:46

    OMG,

    you have a great feelings about your husband 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

