I feel like complaining today

You know it’s cold outside when you wear your long johns all the time.

You know it’s really cold outside when your siberian huskies will not come in the house.

You know it’s really really cold outside when you go to let your siberian huskies in the house and your hand freezes to the handle. 

This weekend brought nothing but some real cold weather.  Yesterday, the high was about 3 degrees with a wind chill that took it down to about 15 below.  I am SO ready for spring to hit!  It’s not getting any better either.

And, just in case I haven’t had just enough cold, the thermostat at home decided to stop working sometime last night.  Needless to say, our house was about 45 degrees this morning.  It was NOT fun.  Ah, the joys of home ownership…

In our bedroom upstairs, we’ve got an electric heater, so it was remotely warm up there.  But even cranked all the way up, it still couldn’t compete with the weather outside.

We don’t even have a fireplace.  The one thing I told my husband I wanted before we bought a house.  I was assured that we wouldn’t even live in this house long enough to miss it.  Two months later, the market crashed and made it impossible for us to sell our house.  Which brings us to now, still in that house, with no fireplace.  Never again am I settling for less than what I want.  I know that sounds selfish, but I think one simple request for a fireplace could have been fulfilled, and we wouldn’t even be talking about it now.

So, everything added to the extremely cold weather, there seems to be an overload of crabiness in my system today.  It’s hard to keep a positive attitude when it’s so cold I can feel it in my bones.  I had a huge exam last week, and have another quiz to prepare for this week and yet another exam next week.

 I just want a house with a fireplace so I can curl up with a book and not do anything until all this passes. 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dlyn
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 09:38:30

    Some how this comment ended up on a different post – some incompetency on my part I have no doubt. Here is it again, on the post where it belongs:
    Even though it is only the middle of February, I keep telling myself that this may be winter’s last gasp. I am probably full of it, but it gets me through the day. I actually like winter for the most part but this time of year, I begin to really get tired of it. Time for spring!

    Reply

  2. Meg
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 14:05:10

    It’s Michigan, which means there’s a good possibility by next week we’ll have temps in the low fifties. Oh how I long for those days. I feel your pain, Steph, I really do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

