Are aquatic creatures even entitled to names?

 

A few of you asked about the “pet” octopus.  I honestly forget about it most of the time, because I don’t pay any attention to it.  We’ve actually had three of them over the years, this latest one being the shyest.  It NEVER comes out.  If it does, it’s usually when the lights in the tank are off, which is obviously at night. 

The second one we had was the coolest, it would constantly crawl all over the front of the tank.  If there was someone walking across the room, it would follow across the glass.  But the current one lives in a reef setting, so there are many places to hide.  So, what does it do?  It hides.

In general, they are pretty cool.  I would never personally choose to have one, but Derek loves them.  Most of them eat live crayfish, so you have to constantly have those on hand.  Which means another tank to keep them in.  And crayfish?  They are very good at getting out of the tank.  I didn’t really appreciate it when I would find them all over the house, or see one of my dogs batting at one on the floor.  Luckily, this one eats frozen food, so we’re all good!  I definitely wouldn’t want even the smallest octopus on my bad side, because when they catch those crayfish, they just snap them in half as if they were a toothpick and suck out their insides.  It’s quite entertaining to watch them catch and eat the crayfish.

They are also VERY good at camoflauge.  And I am horrible at finding them in the tank.  They can change to any color or pattern depending on their current environment.  Sometimes it would be sitting right on the gravel in front of me, and I would not be able to find it.  Derek finds that quite entertaining.

I found this cool video to demonstrate just how well they are at hiding themselves.

I don’t know much more about them, other than that they are extremely intelligent, and in the wild they can take a relatively large shark down without a problem (they also can get up to 16 feet in diameter).  They are also invertebraes and can fit through the smallest of spaces in order to escape or just get to something they want. 

I feel like I am giving a lesson now, and I am just realizing that you probably don’t really care about the details of this thing.  So, now you know about my octopus.  How weird is that, huh?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 10:38:00

    Yay! I love your octopus! That is the coolest thing. I have two sharks, freshwater sharks, but they aren’t anywhere near as cool as that bad boy.

    Reply

  2. dlyn
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 11:31:08

    I found it fascinating actually. We have had 2 differnet kinds of turtles for pets, one of which necessitated keeping live crickets on hand. I imagine crayfish and crickets can both escape with equal dexterity – not good 😉

    Reply

  3. Desperate Horsewife
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 13:48:24

    I love octopuses…octopies? Well, I like them. They’re kinda cool. They’ve got some down at the little aquarium here in town and when they get big enough, they send them down to the big aquarium in Seattle. I guess this is octopus preschool here.

    Reply

  4. Sarah is Ok
    Feb 08, 2008 @ 10:23:34

    I didn’t know one single thing about them, so this was a total lesson. I laughed at D thinking it was funny that you can’t see it. I couldn’t either. But I kind of want a fish tank now.l

    Reply

  5. Labradoodle breeder
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 20:36:08

    I think dogs are the most amazing creatures; they give unconditional love. For me they are the role model for being alive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

