Sure, no problem!

This is one of my goals this summer.  Do you think I can accomplish it?

Me neither. 

This is Stacey Westfall. I think it is absoultely amazing what she does.  If you are wondering what is so special about this video, you should notice that she is riding without a saddle and a bridle.  She is controlling that horse with nothing other than seat and leg cues.  To get that mare to do that, especially without any sign of irritation from her, is simply astounding.  Considering I have yet to even canter on Echo (and I may not even get that far this summer), I am a long way from this.  If I can get her to turn just on leg cues, I will be thrilled!  I honestly don’t expect anything like this to ever happen, but a girl can dream right?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debkolar
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 07:34:39

    Something to aspire to, that was truly amazing.

    Reply

  2. dlyn
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 08:45:54

    Amazing – I loved watching that!

    Reply

  3. Desperate Horsewife
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 13:50:48

    Stacy’s incredible, all right. But you know, I was riding down the middle of the road at the age of four, bareback and without a saddle. It was a pretty comfortable ride, too, on the top of my grandpa’s Guernsey cow. Probably not as exciting to watch me on old Boss as it is to watch Stacy, though.

    Reply

  4. Jen
    Feb 17, 2008 @ 03:19:47

    man i love her! This vid always brings tears to my eyes. I could only dream of having that kinf of horsemanship .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

