Let’s talk weather

I’ve always been fond of winter.  The cold weather has never bothered me.  I once read somewhere that people that live places with very distinctive weather have a better sense of when something in their life happened.  It makes sense though, to associate an event with a time of year, depending on the weather. 

I also rarely watch the weather.  I just deal with whatever comes along that day.  In the winter, I wear a winter coat (even if it does reach almost 60 degrees in January), and in the summer I dress accordingly as well.  I may live somewhere with weather more unpredictable than anywhere else, but I like it that way.

This morning I looked outside before getting dressed.  My husband had let the dogs out, so I had no idea what the temperature was.  It didn’t look cold out at all.  There were just remnants of snow left from a recent snowfall, and the sun was just coming up. When I went outside to leave for work, I realized it was one of those perfect mornings.  It was only around 15 degrees, and the sky was beautiful shades of pink and orange.  Taking in that first breath of cold air was like taking the first hit of a cigarette for the day (if you smoke, that is).  It felt wonderful.  It made me realize just how much I love this place, in all its capricious glory. 

When I was younger, my dad drove a Jeep Wrangler for many years.  I would live for rides in the Jeep with the top down.  One year, the top came down as early as mid-February.  We’ve got pitcures somewhere to prove it.  Some years I couldn’t wait for it to be a little warmer, and some years I wanted winter to last forever.

Because of the way I grew up, I really am a girl of all seasons.  I could not and would not ever live anywhere that was within the same 20 degree range year round.  We grew up snowmobiling during the winter and boating during the summer.   I wouldn’t have it any other way.  I haven’t done many winter activities in quite a few years.  Well, besides having dogs that would rather walk three miles in a foot of snow than walk one mile during the summer.  I’ve always wanted to try snowboarding, and if I get another chance this winter, I plan to. 

Point is, I like the ever-changing weather.  I love seeing the seasons change within a twelve month period.  I love being the only person walking their dogs in the winter and seeing everyone in the neighborhood come out of hibernation to shovel the driveways when there is a snowfall.  I love seeing the budding plants come out of the ground when it gradually starts to get warmer.  I love being able to eat outside on the patio during the warm months.  I am sure you get the point.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. risingrainbow
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 10:54:10

    I love the seasons as well. I did live in souther California for three or four years and it drove me crazy with no seasons. I lost my sense of time and feel for how it was going by. I hated it.

    Reply

  2. dlyn
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 21:45:36

    We got us some good seasons here in NY too. And I am staying the heck up here on this part of the page, cause I saw that there is a spider down there someplace! Ack!

    Reply

  3. etrish
    Jan 27, 2008 @ 23:01:36

    If you love ever-changing weather, you’d LOVE Atlanta. We had snow on the ground all last weekend, and this weekend, I’ve been out gardening in the sunshine. We have a saying in GA: If you don’t like the weather, just wait five minutes. ;- )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

