Yo fish, in the boat!

This is what I used to chant when I was a little girl and we would go out fishing.  I am sure it didn’t really help us actually catch anything,  but it sure was fun.  I haven’t had many opportunities to go fishing in the last couple of years, so this vacation I really jumped on board.  Get it….on board!! That was a feeble attempt at humor.

While we were visiting some family, we went fishing every chance we got.  We didn’t actually get anything worth keeping, so we improvised.

There has always been a documented case of shark catching whenever someone goes down to visit.  So, being our first time at this particular spot, we were fired up to catch us some sharks.  And we failed.  We failed miserably.  Maybe next time, huh?  Until then, I’ll gladly show you what we were busy doing while waiting for the sharks to come around.

I really like this photo, it captures the essence of what we did every evening while waiting for the sharks to bite.  Which includes, in case you haven’t already figured it out, sitting around and drinking beer.  Sorry about the pole in the way, I was actually just playing with the camera when I snapped this picture.  In spite of the meager number of bites we did get, we had fun trying.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Park Wife
    Jan 10, 2008 @ 16:20:04

    Cool vacation, however, I got a little sea sick looking at the pictures.
    The Park Wife

    Reply

  2. Emily
    Jan 11, 2008 @ 12:47:05

    Great pictures! It looks like you had lots of fun. Reminds me of the good ol’ days when we would go up north to your cabin and go fishing. Ahhh, memories…

    Reply

  3. Meg
    Jan 11, 2008 @ 13:22:07

    Oh wow, look how close you were to that dolphin! Sounds like you had a wonderful time. And all you missed was a little Michigan snow…

    When I read your title it made me think of something, maybe a Sesame Street episode where all the person said was “Here, fishy, fishy, fishy” and they all started jumping in the boat. Does that ring a bell?

    I’m with The Park Wife, though, I have horrible motion sickness problems, but with enugh ginger I was able to look at your pics without getting light headed. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Sarah is Ok
    Jan 11, 2008 @ 13:31:12

    I don’t even remember what it was like to feel warm enough to wear shorts and sit outside drinking beer. Looks like a great vacation–b/c of the dolphins too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

