Oh yeah, it’s a new year

Well, it’s back to reality for this girl.  Did ya’ll miss me?  While the vacation was refreshing and lots of fun, I got really homesick.  Or should I say vacation-sick.  I never really understood that whole thing.  Normally I get sick of normalcy, doing the same things day in and day out.  I really missed it this holiday.  Actually, I just think it was my dogs I missed the most.  When they are around, everything just feels normal.  I am never taking another vacation without them.  Unless I go to Ireland, or Australia, or Alaska.  Okay, I probably will take more vacations without them, but it doesn’t mean I enjoy doing it.  I honestly don’t know if they would have enjoyed Florida anyway.  Being Huskies, and being the time of the year they have their thickest coats, it doesn’t seem like it would be very comfortable for them. 

Oh wait, maybe it wouldn’t have been so bad the last couple of days.  Considering it was 45 degrees down there and back home it was almost 60 degrees. What is with this weather!! Record lows down there and record highs up here.  It kinda baffles me. 

Moving on, we had fun spending time with our nephew, going fishing, wandering around taking pictures, and just relaxing.  I will tell you all about it later.  For me, the new year started when we left Florida.  I am not counting the time we spent in Florida, mainly because I entirely lost track of time.  We didn’t even do anything on New Year’s eve.  Didn’t even stay up until midnight.  How lame are we?  Wait, you don’t have to answer that.

So anyway, we left Florida on Saturday and were greeted with this sight when we got on the freeway.

 

I got a little snap happy, but who could blame me.  It honestly was the best rainbow I’d ever seen.  We could actually see the entire thing, I just couldn’t get it all on camera.  One end of it was in the dark sky and the other in the bright sky. I think it’s a good way to bring in the new year.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 11:04:07

    Welcome back! Hope you had a great new year, even though you didn’t stay up until midnight. I’ll try not to mock you too hard about that…
    Hope it’s a great year for you!

    Reply

  2. debkolar
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 18:30:53

    Could a pot o’ gold be waiting for you sometime in 2008? Hope so!

    Reply

  3. risingrainbow
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 21:39:03

    Boy, the weather really seems to be screwed up everywhere.

    Great rainbow, btw.

    Reply

  4. mommyknows
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 22:54:19

    Happy new year! Nice pics.

    Reply

  5. Sarah
    Jan 10, 2008 @ 10:58:05

    These pics, especially the tops of the trees, remind me of what I loved about living in Florida for a little while. I feel your pain, too: the first time I did a real “Spring Break” in college, I went to Florida. While there, Illinois had unseasonably high temps, so much so that when I came back with my sun-charred skin to show off, some of the people at home had tans too:(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

