Fashion is overrated

I like winter, most of the time. I don’t really mind the cold, and I think winter scenes are just breathtaking. I am talking snowy winter here people, not the kind where all you get is rain and ice. Like we have now. Granted, we haven’t been hit as bad as some people, but I still don’t like it.

I am usually too lazy to go start my car before I am ready to go. So most mornings, I just scrape it. The other morning, I couldn’t even do THAT! I was forced to start it and go sit in the house for 10 minutes while it warmed up. The same morning I slipped about 5 times just walking to my car (which, is a mere 10 feet). The driveway and streets were PURE ICE. The same morning my dogs refused to go outside because they couldn’t walk on the driveway. Of course, I made them go anyway. They aren’t THAT spoiled.

The weather has just been so crappy around here. Rain, sleet, and ice. Snow? ZILCH! It’s a real bummer. I haven’t been able to ride Echo in the past couple of weeks, and if I don’t get a chance this weekend, it won’t be until mid-january again. The dogs haven’t been on any walks in a while, it’s just putting a damper on things, and I want it to stop! 

Moving on, since we weren’t able to ride, our trip to the farm was shortened, so my sister and I took a trip to Von Maur.  Yes, I actually went to a shopping mall, and it wasn’t so bad!  I am going to take this time to elaborate on my obsession with this particular store.  Now, it isn’t much different than every other large department store out there.  But their sales are tremendous!  I haven’t paid full price for many things I have bought there.  We just go a couple of times a month, check out the sale racks, and usually find something worth buying.  I pretty much get all my clothing and shoes there.   Truthfully, I haven’t paid more than $30 for a pair of jeans since I’ve been shopping there.  We are talking Lucky, Silver and Hydraulic jeans too.  Jeans that would normally cost in the range of $60 to $100.  Good example, my sister bought a pair of Silver jeans this weekend marked down to $25, and she got to the register and they rang up for $15.  Seriously, does it get any better than that?

So, the reason we went this weekend was to look for shoes for me for my brothers wedding in January, and though we didn’t accomplish that, I did find two adorable pairs of converse that I just had to have.  I’ve never owned a pair of converse, while my sister owns nothing but.  So, we walked out of there with two pairs of matching converse.  Aren’t we cute?  One of the reasons I’ve never had any is because I always thought they made my feet look huge.  But, those days are past, and I’ve just accepted that I have large feet to support my tall frame.  Anyway, they are just so flat, I am having trouble getting used to them. 

I also got some leggings and a short black cardigan to go with a new dress a friend of mine from NYC got me.  And the leggings?  Circa 1980’s with Jane Fonda.  It’s  really hard to wear them, and I am not totally sure I can do it!  I’ve got to figure out something, considering this “dress” is more of a long top on me.  One disadvantage of being tall, I guess.  Anyway, it’s either those or some black tights, not sure how it’ll look with black pants.  Guess, I’ll have to try, huh?  I tend to lack knowledge in the fashion area, hence the leggings, which was a suggestion by the NYC fashion expert that got me the dress!  If anyone has some to share, I sure could use it!  Haven’t even really thought about the shoes, I am sure I have some though.  Hell, I’ll just wear my new converse with it,  you can do that right?  It’s a really good Christmas dress, so I’d like to wear it then.  I’ll just have to cope with my phobia of fashion and give the leggings a chance.  We’ll see….

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 10:20:02

    Gotta love winter!

    I have yet to try the whole leggings thing, as I am short and I think they just make me look shorter, but one of my good friends is six foot and she looks amazing in leggings and short dresses. I’d recommend ballet flats with the outfit, but don’t really listen to me, I am the exact opposite of a fashionista. Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Marlaquack
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 11:30:52

    Your blog is very nice!

    Reply

  3. Lana
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 13:47:53

    Soooo, what is the name of the wonderful store and where is it? I need some deals like that

    Reply

  4. etrish
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 23:31:55

    I have no fashion sense at all, as my students like to remark upon. You are so much braver with fashion than I am!

    Unfortunately, I think the best fashion creation of all time was the plaid flannel shirt, of which I have about 20. One day, I’ll have to find a way to work and live where I can wear flannel all week long.

    Trish
    etrish.wordpress.com
    blessedarethebarren.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

