Looking forward to a little bit of normal

This week marks the last week of class for this semester.  I’ve got one lecture and one exam to get through, and I am free.  I am very much looking forward to getting ONE WHOLE MONTH off, before returning to the second half of this class and starting off exactly where we left off, which won’t be easy.  Next semester won’t be like any other courses I’ve ever took.  There will be no easing into a new subject, there will only be diving into subjects even more complex than what I’ve had to deal with this semester.

Though it may seem so, I am not complaining.  I have thoroughly enjoyed this semester.  I often get teased by my classmates, because I enjoy the class so much.  Who in their right mind would actually ENJOY looking at and dissecting a cadaver, sheep brains and some eyeballs.  Yeah, that would be me. Don’t worry, I won’t go into any more detail than that (for those of you who can’t stomach that sort of thing).  Which, brings me to another point.  Most of the people in my class are going into Nursing, and most of them couldn’t handle the dissections.  I just really don’t understand WHY they would choose a medical profession.  But, that’s their decision.

Anyway, I’ve got one free week before we leave for our vacation, and I’ve got some big plans.  Plans which include all the housework I can fit into my free evenings, taking my dogs for some well deserved walks, cooking some meals, and basking in my temporary laziness by catching up on some movies I’ve been meaning to watch for some time now.  Doesn’t that sound like a blast?!  Okay, not really, but I am sure looking forward to it.

I suppose I just want to feel normal, even if it’s just for a week.  I don’t want to always have somewhere to be, and studying in between everything I do.  I don’t want to have to run errands on my lunch break, simply because I don’t have any other time to get it done.  And I most definititely don’t want to eat sandwiches for dinner anymore, just because it’s easy to pack and can be eaten while driving between work and school. 

Then, I am going to rejuvenate myself by spending two weeks in sunny Florida.  I really am excited to go, despite my reservations from before. It will be a good rest, and if you ask me, definitely well deserved. 

Leave a Reply

