Hobbies

What would we do without them?  They keep us entertained, they inspire us to try new things, and they lead us to bigger and better things throughout our lives. 

I’ve never had many hobbies.  I’ve tried my hands at different things, but nothing really ever stuck.  When I was in high school, it was automotive stuff for me, and I don’t think you can consider that a hobby.  The only thing I can say I know I have always enjoyed is reading.  I won’t ever stop reading.  So, fast forward to today…what are my hobbies?  Well, I suppse school can be considered one, because outside of that, I haven’t got much time for anything else.  But as you’ve heard me say before, and I am sure you will hear all about it again.   Horses are my newfound love.  I never would have thought that would be it, but it is.  I also LOVE gardening, decorating, obviously blogging, cooking and doing things outside with my dogs.  You’ll hear about all those someday.

Anyway, in the past, I’ve tried crocheting (and yes, I AM aware that I am only 25 years old!)  But, it was a little boring for me.  There is still an unfinished afghan in my front closet that I’ve made vows to finish each year for the past three years.  No such luck.  It does have it’s good points though.  When I need new dishcloths, I can just whip one up, or if I want a new scarf, there’s that too.  Also, in the past I tried the whole saltwater fish tank thing, and I managed to kill almost each and every fish I put in that tank.  All but one, which I gave away when I decided it wasn’t for me. 

So, years later, when I met my husband and he wanted to try his hand at a saltwater tank, I gave him all my old equipment. THIS is where he ended up, and he is still going strong.

Albeit, there has been many transitions through the years.  One which involved a ginormous 320 gallon tank and a basement full of water from that monster of a tank.  But, we won’t get into that one now.  Another which involved me being stung on the finger by a baby lionfish, and having no running water at the time.  What are you supposed to do when that happens, suck on it?  I think not, considering it’s POISONOUS.  We won’t get into that one right now, either! 

My husband has been blessed with the quality of finishing anything he puts his mind to.  Why can’t I do that?  So, on top of the beautiful reef tank he keeps up on a daily basis, he also builds beautiful furniture.  We’ve already seen a picture of his entertainment center, but here are a few other pictures of his accomplishments. 

A coffee table for our living room…

A trunk that is supposed to be for our living room, but since the monstrocity of that entertainment center took over, we seem to have run out of room..

So, it currently resides in our bedroom.  Some coasters…

A potting bench that is currently living in our basement (so, please excuse the messy picture, there are bookshelves behind it that I had to cover up), because we found out the hard way it could not be left in the rain.  So until we have a house with some sort of portico to shelter it, we can’t really use it…

And, his stand and canopy for his fish tank.  This one was also made to match the living room, but again, we seem to have a shortage of space in our house the size of a postage stamp.  So, it is keeping the potting bench company in the basement.

There are a couple of things outside, but I wasn’t about to drag my butt outside in 20 degree weather to get a couple of crappy pictures, but I’ll get to them. 

So, there you have it folks.  If you ever need anything, just let us know!  He does wonderful work. 

That’s a glimpse into our world, and how we keep ourselves busy.

Leave a Reply

