Equine love.

This is Echo.  I never really understood the whole horse phenomenon, until I got into it, that is.  Now, I will never go back.

Horses are work, a lot of people don’t understand that.  I never did, until this filly came into my life.  But I have learned so much in the past year and a half, and by no means am I anywhere close to knowing everything there is to know.  It truly is a lifetime hobby, because there is always something new to learn, or new to teach. 

I love every minute I spend with her.  It’s been quite a journey for both of us, because I am still learning about horses, learning to ride, and learning to train.  She is just a young horse who needs someone to teach her what she needs to know.  I think we’ve done good though.  There have been some rather rough days, but we got through them.  You get through those days, and you get some really wonderful days in return.  Like today…

Today was an excellent day.  It was one of those days where you really feel like you got somewhere.  We didn’t work for very long, and we had some fights, but in the end, she did what I was asking her to do.  That makes me feel like I was actually doing something right.  It’s hard to know whether or not I am doing something correctly, since I am still learning.  But like I said, today we got somewhere, and it makes me feel so wonderful.

 

Leave a Reply

