Smile, it’s cold outside!

Mom is still in the hospital, but doing much better.  She is able to eat solid (but soft) foods today, and there’s a chance she will be released tomorrow.  Thanks to everyone who was thinking of her through this hard time.

It snowed for about an hour yesterday.  I absolutely love this time of year.  Although it doesn’t feel like November AT ALL, it nice that it’s colder than it has been.  Thanksgiving and Christmas are just around the corner.  I like Christmas music, it’s so cheery and always makes me smile.  But, RIGHT NOW!  Come on, it’s a little too early for it now.  It seems they start playing it earlier and earlier every year.  I wonder how long it will be before they start playing it right after Halloween.  Nevermind that it was 60 degrees outside two days ago, and that my flowers are STILL blooming, bring on the Christmas music!  I just don’t associate the holidays with 60 degree weather and bright pink petunias.

I shouldn’t even be talking though.  I am denying myself this time of year I love so much.  I am leaving for the holidays, you can find me in 70 degree weather, and among lots of tropical plants.  We are going to Florida for Christmas and New Years.  Don’t get me wrong, I do want to go.  Mainly to see family, and finally get a vacation.  But, I don’t get to wake up on Christmas morning and wonder if there is a foot of snow on the ground, and I don’t get to decorate the house, and I don’t get to wear my fluffy winter coat.  I just can’t comprehend waking up on Christmas morning to warm weather, and seeing decorations on houses who still have green grass and tropical plants blooming in their front yard.

It will be a good time though, once I can get past my issues. 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sue
    Nov 16, 2007 @ 14:00:02

    You can still decorate your house! Do it before you leave for a week…and enjoy the lights and decorations. And, have a family dinner, invite your family over and have some Holiday fun a bit early! And, you never know it might snow in Florida. It was low 29′ in Clearwater a few nights ago!!! So you might want to take that fluffy jacket with you! 🙂
    Have fun!!
    Sue

    Reply

Leave a Reply

